Though Collin County ranks low in crime, there is still a list of commonly charged crimes, each carrying its own unique harsh penalty. The penalties for these crimes depend on the specific charge and unique details of the case.
If you’re facing a criminal charge in Texas, it’s time to talk to a criminal defense attorney and start building a powerful defense. Criminal charge convictions may cause jail time, hefty fines, and other severe consequences based on the offense committed.
To avoid these harsh punishments and ensure your criminal record stays clean, rely on a successful attorney to defend you in the courtroom and advocate for your best options.
Substance-related crimes may include driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges and drug manufacturing, possession, and distribution charges. These charges vary in degrees and penalties. DWI charges depend on the number of offenses.
First-time DWI offenses may result in a $2000 fine, loss of license for up to one year, and a jail sentence of up to 180 days, with a minimum of three required. With a third offense, the fine is raised to $10,000, plus up to ten years in prison and a license loss of two years.
The most common drug-related substance charge is drug possession, which represents over 84 percent of drug charges. Though the precise penalties for drug possession are determined by the substance in question, penalties include high fines and jail time as well. If you’re charged with a felony instead of a misdemeanor, you may face up to 99 years in federal prison and a fine of up to $250,000.
Substance-related charges are very serious in Texas, and it’s critical to partner with a skilled criminal defense attorney to avoid these harsh consequences and keep your criminal record clear.
Stealing-related charges include theft, robbery, and burglary. Theft is the act of taking property from another person, and charges may be classified as a misdemeanor or felony, and this decision is determined by the unique circumstances of the case in question. Misdemeanor theft charges may cause fines to jail time, depending on the value stolen.
Robbery is the act of taking something from someone with force involved. Normally charged as a second-degree felony within Texas, this charge can carry up to two decades in jail and a steep fine of $10,000. This charge becomes even more serious when it is considered to be aggravated robbery or when victims have serious injuries.
Similarly, burglary is the crime of entering someone’s property to steal their things and grows more serious when damage or injuries are caused.
Though common, stealing-related charges are severely punished in Texas. When you’re facing a theft, robbery, or burglary charge, it’s critical to talk to a skilled, successful attorney as early as possible in the process so you can build your best chance to defeat the charge in the courtroom.
Our lawyers have been serving clients like you for years, helping individuals facing frightening criminal charges get free and move on with their future without excessive fines and jail time. We work hard to ensure you feel comfortable and confident throughout the legal process, and we strive to keep you updated so you’re not left anxious about our next steps.
If you’re ready to speak to competent criminal attorneys at Chris Lewis & Associates P.C. who hold a long success record and will use their honed skills to best support you in the courtroom, we’re ready to serve you. Get the defense you deserve and give us a call at 214-984-3113 or fill in our online form today.