TALK TO AN ATTORNEY 214.665.6930
For the defense you deserve.

What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?

It’s a common misconception that drunk driving crimes aren’t that big of a deal. Many people underestimate the seriousness of these offenses, and they often sign plea agreements thinking the conviction won’t affect their lives. If you’ve been charged with a DWI in Texas, don’t make the same mistake that others have made.

You should take these charges seriously, because there are penalties and other negative ramifications of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction. What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas? Read on for more information.

Legal Penalties of a Drunk Driving Conviction in Texas

The penalties for DWI vary greatly, depending on the unique circumstances of your case. For instance, if you harmed someone because you caused a vehicle accident, you will likely be facing more serious legal penalties. Another way your penalties could increase is if you had a minor in the vehicle when you were pulled over for a DWI.

Here are some of the basic penalties you will face if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated in Texas.

  • A DWI with a child passenger is punished by up to two years in state jail and a fine of up to $10,000. You will also lose your driver’s license for 180 days and could be placed on probation and ordered to do alcohol treatment classes.
  • A first-offense DWI is a misdemeanor and will get you up to 180 days in jail. You can also lose your driver’s license for up to one year and receive a fine of up to $2,000.
  • A second-offense DWI is a misdemeanor punished by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. You can also lose your license for up to two years.
  • If you’re arrested for a third or subsequent DWI, you will be charged with a felony. You could face between two and ten years in prison, receive a fine of up to $10,000, and face the loss of your driver’s license for up to two years.

Make the Call to a DWI Lawyer in Texas

Now you know a little more about what the penalties are for a DWI in Texas. You might be able to avoid these penalties if you fight against your charge, but you can’t avoid them if you plead guilty. Talk to a DWI lawyer about what your options are. Call Chris Lewis & Associates, P.C. at 214-665-6930, or send over the internet contact form located down below.


* All Fields Required