Although marijuana laws are changing across the country, not every state is so quickly implementing these programs. In Texas, for example, most forms of cannabis are illegal and can lead to high penalties upon conviction.
That’s why understanding Texas marijuana laws is so important. Although bills are being considered that would decriminalize some use, you’ll need to understand the penalties you’re facing now, so you can better understand your court case.
If you’ve been accused of a crime involving weed, reach out for guidance to protect your future. You’ll need help defending yourself in court, so find a lawyer who understands the penalties you’re facing and what you’ll need to know before your court date.
Although you may have heard about bills that could change Texas marijuana laws, you’ll need to focus on the current laws, which you will be tried under if you’ve already been arrested. Unfortunately, those laws are still strict, which could be serious if you don’t fight back.
If you’re accused of even having less than two ounces of weed in your possession, you could be facing a Class B misdemeanor. That means you could face fines of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail. That’s a significant sentence, and it becomes even more serious for amounts greater than two ounces.
The costs for selling weed can be even more serious. Selling even seven grams, or about one-quarter of an ounce, is also a Class B misdemeanor.
The penalties for these offenses can be serious, and even medical marijuana is restricted. Although some prescriptions are allowed under the Compassionate Use Act, only certain conditions such as epilepsy may be treated. Although this allowance does allow for some treatments, your options are greatly restricted, compared to many other states.
Only certain forms of cannabis may be used, as well. Only oils made from marijuana as prescribed by a doctor are allowed. This means that other forms, such as raw herbs, are still illegal. That limits the options for treatment.
Even the contents of the oils are heavily regulated. These oils must have less than half a percent of THC, the psychoactive part of maijuana, and more than ten percent CBD, which supposedly contains many of the health benefits associated with cannabis. Because of these restrictions, you may need a lawyer on your side if you’re dealing with marijuana-related charges.
When you’re accused of a weed-related offense in Texas, it’s important to understand the consequences and laws surrounding your case. Unfortunately, the penalties can be harsh, so you’ll need to know what to do when faced with these charges.
Fortunately, your lawyer from Chris Lewis & Associates, P.C. can help you understand Texas marijuana laws. If you’re struggling with a case and aren’t sure where to begin, reach out for a consult. We’ll review your charges and help you address your case. To begin, give us a call at 214-984-3113 or complete the online form below.