The right to own a firearm is a constitutionally protected right—but, as a gun owner, you still have to abide by the rules and regulations when it comes to gun ownership, and some people are prohibited from gun ownership.
Unlawful possession of a firearm is a crime that the state of Texas takes seriously, and the consequences can be severe if you are convicted. Read on if you’re wondering what the penalties for unlawful possession of a firearm are. For help protecting your future, partner with a Dallas criminal defense lawyer.
Unlawful possession of a firearm is a gun crime that strictly applies to certain individuals with prior criminal records, who are now presently or permanently barred from owning firearms.
In general, the people who are prohibited from owning firearms are:
Although convicted felons or people with family violence convictions are generally unable to own firearms in Texas, there are exceptions made for people who have elapsed five years since the date of their release.
Unlawful possession of a firearm is generally tried as a Class A misdemeanor. These charges carry a punishment of no more than one year in jail, with a fine of up to $4,000. There’s also a felony version of the charge for egregious offenders; in the case of the latter, expect up to ten years in jail, with a fine of up to $10,000.
If you’re facing charges for unlawful possession of a firearm, it’s imperative to take action before conviction. At Chris Lewis & Associates P.C., we can provide you with the best defense possible for your case.
Call 214-984-3113 or fill out the form below to contact an unlawful possession of firearms lawyer today.